The Academy of Cardiovascular & Pulmonary Physical Therapy is governed by a five-person Executive Committee composed of a President, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and Advocacy Chair (who is also Chief Delegate), with collaboration of a broader Board of Directors who are the EC members jointly with the Academy committee chairs.

  • The officers of the Academy assume office at the end of the Association’s Combined Sections Meeting
  • The term of office of each officer shall be three (3) years, or until the election and assumption of office of his/her successor (see bylaws for variation to first term for Chief Delegate).
  • No member shall serve more than two consecutive terms in the same office, but shall be eligible again after one year’s absence from office.
  • Nominating Committee members also are elected by APTA CVP membership. 
  • Members shall serve a term of 3 years, commencing at the close of the Association’s Combined Sections Meeting, if one is held, with one member elected each year. The member with seniority shall chair the committee.

Open Positions for the Coming Year

For 2022, open positions are:

  • Treasurer
  • Secretary
  • Advocacy Chair (Chef Delegate to APTA House of Delegates)
  • Nominating Committee Member 
Call for Nominations 2022 Submission Form

Duties of the above positions are described in the APTA CVP bylaws and the relevant Section job description. It is expected that elected APTA CVP leaders will not be restricted by their employment responsibilities from attending, and be willing to attend, Academy Board and Business meetings when required by their leadership roles. The BOD has a standing virtual meeting the 4th Tuesday of each month at 7:00pm Eastern time; with in-person Business meeting held annually at each year’s APTA Combined Sections Meeting. Additionally, the Chief Delegate and President (2nd Delegate) are expected to attend all in-person and virtual meetings related to the APTA House of Delegates.

Voting will take place October 1 - October 15. Only CURRENT APTA CVP Members (PTs & PTAs) will be eligible to vote and will only be allowed to cast one ballot. 

Nominating Committee:  [email protected] 

Hannah McHugh, PT, DPT 

Julie Skrzat, PT, DPT, PhD 
Talia Pollok, PT, DPT, CCS